Teachers Day 2022

Home|Event|Teachers Day 2022

Teachers Day was celebrated in our Institute after a gap of 2 (two) years due to Pandemic – Covid 19, on 5th September 2022. Every year 5th September is celebrated as Teachers’ Day in the country. A day dedicated to teachers and their contributions in shaping one’s life, it commemorates the birth anniversary of Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, a Bharat Ratna recipient and the first Vice President and second President of Independent India. Dr Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was born on September 5, 1888.


Dr Radhakrishnan was a Teacher, Scholar par excellence and loved and admired by all his students. Teachers’ Day is celebrated on his birthday since 1962.  The day is marked by activities of celebration, thanks giving and remembrance with all Teachers and Students participating. On Teacher’s Day, students across the nation honor the Teachers and gurus in their lives.


On this special occasion like previous years all the Special Teachers and Staff of Institute for the Handicapped and Backward People, assembled to celebrate Teacher’s Day on the 5th September 2022 at the Special School for the Disabled at Behala, Kolkata and at our rural centre at Nityaberia, North 24 Parganas District, West Bengal on the occasion of the 134th Birth Anniversary of Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishnan.


At first the Special Teachers of the Special School garlanded the portrait of Dr. Sarvapalli Radhakrishna and then briefed the students about Teachers Day and why it is celebrated. Later in the day the Special Teachers and students presented Bouquet, Pen Stand and other gifts to the Founder Director Dr. M. A. Hasan Sahani, as a mark of respect. All the differently able students also gave present something or the other as a mark of respect to the Special Teachers. The program ended with the Special Teachers thanking all present for making the program a success. At the end the differently able students and teachers were served rice and chicken curry and all went home happily.


We all are Proud to Special Mention that this year on Teachers Day, Rotary Club of Ballygunge organized a Felicitation Program to recognize and honour all the Special Teachers of our Organization for their dedication and sincerity in the field of education. The names of the Special Teachers of our Organization who were Felicitated are our Secretary Laily Khatun, Tapan Chandra Muhuri, Archana Maity, Tanusri Sikdar, Soma Das, Sk. Raihan Ali, Rishi Malik, Nurnahar Khatun, Dolon Halder, Mousumi Gayen, Sandip Saha, Sariful Phakir, Sujata Mondal, Tamal Taru Mondal, Somnath Hazra, Jay Krishna Mandal and Sumona Mondal. All the Special Teachers were presented a Certificate of Appreciation. It is indeed a moment of pride and honour. We are indebted and sincerely thank Rotary Club of Ballygunge.